The Madikeri Fort has a rich history which features some of the most prominent of historical figures in the history of India. This fort was first built in the year 1681 as a palace and a surrounding mud fort by the third king of the Haleri dynasty called Mudduraja. This fort was then rebuilt and fortified using granite by the “Sword of Mysore” Tipu Sultan himself. From the year 1812 through to 1824, the palace underwent a great deal renovation thanks to the efforts of Lina Rajendra Wodeyar II. In 1834, the British Empire took over and added even more to the existing structures. Tourists who visit this fort will find a church and a museum in the South - East corner of the fort and two life - sized elephants made using Masonry in the North - East corner of the Fort. Easily accessible, this fort is a must visit place for any tourist coming to Coorg.